Jungle Pots …Floral Friday

FF100314a

Images are clickable.

A rainbow colored panther chased me up the tree then stared at me as I caught my breath. He snarled and roared but couldn’t climb the tree. Then I noticed his right leg was in a sling.  In a voice like that of Willie Nelson’s, he explained that he had been in a boating accident. Then I woke up from the dream. It was one of those times my day began with laughter.

I didn’t try to analyze my dream, that would have spoiled the humor. Instead, I remembered one of the containers I found at the Goodwill store a couple of days earlier. Right then, I decided to use a jungle theme for today’s Floral Friday.

A vintage Haeger urn planter became the foundation for a mix of five tropical flowers. The grouping was inspired by some of the dream background. The finished arrangement is a reminder of my surreal sleeptime.

FF100314c
The dream reminded me that it was also time to freshen up the McCoy tiger planter in the living room. I wanted a lush but simple treatment. The bright yellow container requires equally vivid flowers. Reddish pink fit the bill.

FF100314gSome very old, fragile, “silk” polyester blooms needed to find a home. I mated them with plastic leaves and real poppy buds. The foundation is a Haeger cube planter from the 1960s.FF100314i

The container that probably triggered my weird dream is marked, “Mr. Bali Hai made exclusively for the Bali Hai Restaurant San Diego, Calif.” The whimsical pot became the foundation for some vintage plastic tropical blooms. The finished composition emotes an unreal, postmodern feel.

In a matter of thinking, today’s Floral Friday is a dream come true.

Ciao
mini-moiThe Blue Jay of Happiness has a thought from Albert Camus.  “Without culture, and the relative freedom it implies, society, even when perfect, is but a jungle. This is why any authentic creation is a gift to the future.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in art, Contemplation, Floral Arts, Hobbies, Vintage Collectables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

