Improvised …Floral Friday

One may consider yesterday’s bluejayblog post about chaotic behavior as inspiration for today’s offering to you. Some seemingly random elements come together, without a conscious plan, into a few FF102414bgroupings. As a matter of fact, I put today’s arrangements together before I even decided to write yesterday’s post. In effect, the last few days have seen much improvisation.

An old standard, hobby shop resin crafter’s vase provides the foundation for a study in greens. I think I bought the vase at a garage or rummage sale back in the 1990s, used it a couple of times, then stashed it in the basement. I stumbled across it last week, and cleaned it up. The very light, green tint inspired the green theme. I placed the large green lily into the vessel, then added elements around it.

FF102414a

The simple arrangement that inspired today’s title, is the solo begonia. I happened across a vintage Imperial Glass Company “crackle” carnival glass candle holder on Monday.  There was only one, but the price was cheap, so I brought it home anyway. I don’t use taper candles, so I just put the candlestick in the window to reflect sunlight.

Yesterday, I came across the big, purple flower and wanted to display it. The candlestick came into view as a possible container. However the candle well is small to accommodate only a taper candle. On the spur of the moment, I flipped the candlestick upside down to reveal the open FF102414ccore. There is enough mass to keep the container from tipping accidentally.  The end result was easy, simple, and fancy.

I needed one more project for today’s post. The Ikebana vase just happened to be in my field of vision. I pulled some likely elements from the supplies container and set them next to the vase. I concentrated on my breath for a few moments, and just listened to the classical radio station’s selection of chamber music. Soon, my own composition seemingly fell into place.

What sort of creative project can you improvise right now?

Ciao
l rm a 07-01The Blue Jay of Happiness says that sometimes we just need to go with the flow.

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in art, Contemplation, Floral Arts, Hobbies, Vintage Collectables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Improvised …Floral Friday

  1. gpcox says:

    You always do such a great job with these!

Leave a Reply

