November Experiments …Floral Friday

Images are clickable.

Images are clickable.

I wracked my early morning brain to come up with a theme or a name for today’s Floral Friday post. No unifying quality came to mind, so I wussed out by using what you see. I have three projects which were fun to do that stretched my boundaries a bit.

Gerbera daisies look great alone or as part of large arrangements. They don’t work well in small groupings of other flowers. In my mind, hard and fast design rules are meant to be stretched and broken. In this case, a vintage Haeger pedestal planter groups three differently colored Gerberas in a small arrangement of other types of flowers. The differences in shapes and sizes help the overall design to work.

FF110614b

Novelty themed planters are rarely used these days, because current guidelines advise against the use of a container that can overwhelm the flowers or plantings it will hold. Again, I dumped the rules, because FF110614cnovelty containers are fun to show off. This Shawnee cowboy hat planter looks good without anything in it. To me, good looks alone, present a challenge. The idea is to put together a project that showcases both the planter and the planting in equal measure.

I spent a lot of time polishing an old silver bud vase. I didn’t want to just plunk in a rose and a fern then call it good enough. One of my favorite contrasts is metal and dry elements. Silver works well when you’re not aiming for “shabby chic”. In this case, seven dried tea roses appear in a setting of other dried plant elements. I aimed to bring an Art Deco shape to life.

The “jury” is still out on the Gerbera experiment, but I’m satisfied with the results of the other two projects. I’m glad to have a measure of success in this week’s offerings.

Ciao
mini-moiThe Blue Jay of Happiness likes this pithy nugget from Henri Poincaré: “Experiment is the sole source of truth. It alone can teach us something new; it alone can give us certainty.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in art, Floral Arts, Hobbies, Vintage Collectables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

