Interesting Containers …Floral Friday

Usually the containers I use for Floral Friday arrangements are as visually pleasing as the flowers in them. They are interesting because that is my intention.  I became involved in floral arts, partly because I have so many antique and vintage vases, planters, and pots.  Ever since the tinkering phase, I’ve enjoyed expanding the definition of flower containers to items not originally designed as such. Today, I have some of both.

FF040315a

A recent find is this lead crystal swan nappy or candy dish. I decided to use it as a rose bowl, instead.  This turned out to be a perfect setting for a blood-red rose.

FF040315b

My quirkiest (is that a word?) collection is Tupperware containers.  I’m not sure why, but I like the look, feel, and utilitarian qualities of them. I actually use a few of them to store foodstuffs, too.  I was quite fond of a small bright orange container, so I used it to store brown sugar for oatmeal. One day, I noticed the lid had developed a large crack, so I had to retire the container.  The item was a natural for today’s post. Because I also wanted to keep the container suitable for food use, in case another orange lid shows up, I put together a big batch of vintage, plastic daisies to create a kitschy look.

FF040315c

The most valuable flower holder in today’s post, is home to a single cluster of hydrangea. The Lewis Weil glass globe “Flower Aquarium Display” is a favorite vintage collectable. A simple, but stylish Bakelite base, holds a small metal frog and rubber gasket; it screws onto a sturdy, thick glass globe.

FF040315d

Another foodie piece is a chartruse McCoy pedestal mug from the “flower power era”.  It had developed an internal crack from its many years of use. I didn’t want to throw it out, so why not find some compatible blooms and make some hippie art?  The mug now sits in the kitchen of my pad.

So, what sort of interesting items do you have that might serve as a flower container?

Ciao
mini-moiThe Blue Jay of Happiness quotes Pablo Picasso. “We must not discriminate between things. Where things are concerned there are no class distinctions. We must pick out what is good for us where we can find it.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in art, cultural highlights, Floral Arts, Gadgets, Hobbies, Vintage Collectables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interesting Containers …Floral Friday

Leave a Reply

