Out West Theme …Bonus Florals

A logjam has developed with my vase and planter collection.  Several new finds are awaiting utilization.  I’m starting to think of this abundance as too much of a good thing. In the process of categorizing some containers, I got diverted into creating a few small projects.  Creativity just happens when you combine me with vases.

Saturday041115a

One of the latest finds is a small cowboy boot souvenir that I just couldn’t resist. I took a handful of leftover flowers and carefully placed them inside the piece.  The cowboy boot triggered the need to bring out some other western themed containers.

Saturday041115b

Naturally, the laid-back cowboy planter had to be included.  I cleaned out the remains of an old project and decided to use small, fill flowers to bring out the illusion of a frontier ranch.

Saturday041115c

The cowboy boot wallpocket was gathering dust in a corner of my music room so a revamp was in order.  The Frankoma container is unglazed terra cotta. To enhance the Oklahoma red clay, I decided to use some bright marigolds and goldenrod. When I finished the project I hung the boot back in place to brighten up the corner of the room.

Tomorrow I end my string of photo blogs for a few days as I exercise my urges to write.

Ciao
mini-moiThe Blue Jay of Happiness knows the concept of the American West is a flexible one. The West means something different to its inhabitants than the Hollywood version most of us harbor in our minds.

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in Floral Arts, Hobbies, Vintage Collectables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Out West Theme …Bonus Florals

  1. gpcox says:

    Now you’re really cookin’, Partner (how do you write with a drawl? That would have been much more effective.)

    • swabby429 says:

      The best I can do is emulate the folks from Western Nebraska. I don’t want to offend those readers from Texas and New Mexico. 🙂 I’ll have to brush up on the y’alls by utilizing yellow roses in the terra cotta boot, next time.

Leave a Reply

