National Photograph Month

Many of us have photo albums stashed away on shelves and inside of drawers.  We also have loose photos in boxes and envelopes from developers. Of course, with the advent of digital photography, we have images stored on various electronic based media.  In the same vein, many of us have experienced photography with analogue cameras and an digital cameras and phones.

May is National Photograph Month, or in some circles, National Photography Month.  It has been officially so, ever since 1987.  I suspect that it was originally promoted by camera manufacturers and retailers.  However, I think we can observe it on a much wider level.

This past weekend, I went through a few of my old albums full of photographic prints, browsed through some old Zip Discs, thumb drives, and noticed wall mounted prints as I pondered what National Photograph Month means to me.  I decided to grab a few images from my archives and do a photo blog, today. Most of these are from several years ago.

Images are clickable.

Images are clickable.

The first image is a formal still-life of some black-eyed susans. The original image was shot on Kodachrome with a Canon AE-1 with a Canon macro lens in 1982.  Two years later, I sent the slide to a mail order company that offered laser scanned, archival quality prints from slides and transparencies, at a premium price. When I received the print, I matted and framed it with archival grade materials. This picture of a picture was shot in natural window light with a tripod mounted Olympus “Camedia” C-60 point and shoot camera.

Photo2-TowerBridge1999SonyMavica
My first visit to the UK introduced me to an ever present foggy mist.  My friend and host used his new Sony Mavica to take this view of me on the banks of the Thames in 1999.  Because the Mavica saved images directly to floppy disc, my friend simply copied the floppy and gave it to me.

Photo3-Vancouver1998disposableFujiCamera
In 1998, I visited Vancouver, British Columbia but didn’t want to lug around my 35mm cameras, equipment bag, and tripod.  Instead, I purchased a few Fujifilm cardboard “disposable” cameras. Not only were the cameras conveniently pocketable, they took fairly good quality photos. This image was handheld, about an hour before sunset. The view is towards the east-southeast. It shows the boat harbor and downtown skyline.

Photo4-2010OlympusDigital
Some of my very favorite photographs are portraits of loved ones.  Just a glance at this image brings memories of a day filled with fun and intellectual discussion.  This was taken in 2009 with an old Olympus point and shoot digital camera.

Photo5-OlympusDigital2013
Once in awhile, an artistic opportunity presents itself without notice.  A couple of years ago, a demolition crew tore into an old eyesore motel located a few blocks away from my home.  I grabbed my newer Olympus point and shoot camera and snapped several images to document the passing of the old “landmark”. An anonymous passerby stopped to examine the event.  This frame turned out poignant, in an artistic way.

Who knows? Maybe I’ll do another photo blog of oldies again, real soon.

Ciao
mini-moiThe Blue Jay of Happiness quotes Ansel Adams. “You don’t take a photograph, you make it.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in art, cultural highlights, Hobbies, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to National Photograph Month

Leave a Reply

