Vintage Silks …Floral Friday

FF051515a
The big, dusty, bent-up flower arrangement grabbed my attention right away.  It was a relic of the 1980s, when pastels were chic, especially pink.  Jumbo sized silk flowers of that vintage are becoming more scarce, so I made an impulse purchase.

A flat, pink centerpiece container was crammed full of the fabulous, fakes.  The wire stems were coiled and crooked, the petals were crushed and covered with musty dust.  I disassembled the arrangement outdoors in a medium breeze, then shook and brushed away the surface dirt.  Then I discarded the old, foam mechanicals and moss. I cleaned up the planter dish and used it for a project I posted here two weeks ago.

Because the flowers turned out as non-colorfast, I had to detail clean them with an old, soft paintbrush using no water.  While brushing them, I also had to straighten out and reform the flowers and leaves.  This was a time-consuming process, but it was worth FF051515cthe extra effort.

I wanted the pink flower color to “pop”, so I decided to use a 1990s era Haegar vase.  The resulting retro-inspired style doesn’t look dated at all.

The light blue flowers turned out to be my favorites of the batch, so something special was needed.  I started by filling a Lancaster Colony vintage McCoy pitcher with some dried stems and artificial pink “snowflakes” I purchased in the mid-1980s.  (I have a hard time throwing out old flowers.) I used those elements as the framework to hold the blue silks.

FF051515f

I ended up with some leftover leaves.  A small, old Shawnee hound planter inspired my third project.  The swept-back greenery needed one more element.  I cannibalized another old project for a couple of polyester peruvian lilies.

After I finished the projects, I stood back and felt glad that I was able to recycle most of castaway floral arrangement.

Ciao
mini-moiThe Blue Jay of Happiness remembers Henri Matisse and his floral interpretations. “There are always flowers for those who want to see them.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in Floral Arts, Hobbies, Vintage Collectables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vintage Silks …Floral Friday

Leave a Reply

