Clean And Tweak …Floral Friday

A couple of days ago I awakened and looked up at the giraffe. It occurred to me that I hadn’t cleaned or soaked it for quite some time. Maybe I should give the giraffe a long overdue bath.  While I was at it, a few other small items in my bedroom needed a redo.  Clean and tweak day had arrived.P5310265

Before taking care of my giraffe, the bedside vase needed a more summery treatment. I decided on a monochrome theme.  Some red dyed sunflowers were all that was needed to make a bold statement.
I brought down the Lane Furniture Company giraffe planter from its corner shelf. Because it was up high, away from eye-level view, I had neglected the thing. The very dusty, non-colorfast flowers were beyond help, so, in the trash they went. I carefully soaked and wiped down the awkward planter, then installed greenery that is easier to keep clean.

P5310262

Another corner of the bedroom is a haven for wallpockets. As long as I was in the cleaning mood, why not freshen these up too?

I don’t know the maker of the matching pair of white containers. I do know they are very old. I decided upon “mirror image” arrangements for the pair.  The Royal Copely “lovebirds” nest was scrubbed and refitted with dark blue and purple fill flowers.

P5310260

A rare Royal Haeger birdhouse was kept much as it was before cleaning day, I just brought it outdoors then blew off the dust and finished it with a “magnetic” dusting tool.

My favorite wallpocket is the yellow bloom. I redo it with different flowers regularly.  This time I decided to give it an unruly, rustic, summertime look.

When I finished the little projects, I made a promise to do a better job of maintenance. I hope to remember the vow.

Ciao
mini-moiThe Blue Jay of Happiness quotes Chris Hemsworth. “I have sporadic OCD cleaning moments around the house. But then I get lazy and I’m cured. It’s a very inconsistent personality trait.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in Floral Arts, Hobbies, Vintage Collectables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Clean And Tweak …Floral Friday

Leave a Reply

