August Assortment …Floral Friday

This time of year, garage sales and leftovers from garage sales provide plenty of opportunities to glean unique containers and even supplies for flower projects.

I rarely go garage sailing anymore because I need to hold one myself, someday.  However, two families, a block away, had one of those large sales that covers two entire front yards.  I had to check it out.  Fortunately, there were very few things that appealed to me.  The families set out mostly children’s clothing, toys, cast-off furniture, and kitchen stuff.  I did score some floral foam and a bag of faux flowers, all for three dollars.

Earlier, I managed to find some interesting containers people may have brought into the Goodwill Store, as dogs from their garage sales.  The bargains put me in the creative mood. It was time to blend my finds.

FF080715c

A 1960s vintage cat planter begged for attention. Its exact vintage is unknown as is its maker. The previous owner glued a large callus pad to the cat’s base as a furniture protector.  I’ll need to scrape it off when I tire of the arrangement.  The opening for flowers is at an awkward angle, so I made the best of it by fanning a variety of greenery and blooms in a spread out fashion.

FF080715b

The small cherub vase is marked “©1963 INARCO CLEV, OHIO E-1080 A”. Manufacture was outsourced to Japan. The kitschy appearance appealed to my ironic nature.  I enhanced the vase’s complexity with an assortment of small, brightly colored flowers.

FF080715a

Last, and least complex, is a Japanese “doorknob” vase marketed by Counterpoint Pottery of San Francisco. After contemplating the little pot, I decided upon a very simple vertical statement.  This will work nicely on my personal shrine. It could also enhance any small displays in a variety of situations.

The creative break helped distract my attention from the heat and humidity of the afternoon and certainly lifted my spirits.

Ciao
mini-moiThe Blue Jay of Happiness has something from Coco Chanel, just for variety’s sake. “There is no time for cut and dried monotony. There is time for work, and time for love. That leaves no other time.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in Floral Arts, Hobbies, Vintage Collectables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August Assortment …Floral Friday

Leave a Reply

