Solo Acts …Floral Friday

Now and then, I crave simplicity for simplicity’s sake.  Sometimes I tire of the complicated world we must live in.  Other times, I notice there is just too much going on in my mind.  At those times, I still enjoy creative projects, but I need a very simple object upon which to focus my attention.

This week I brought out three small containers that enable small, simple floral design.  The objective was to enhance one main flower or plant.

PC050559

I have a few succulent plants around the house.  The question was, which one belongs in the vintage Shawnee pump planter? It turns out the pinecone shaped plant provides just enough size and form for this container.  The light green compliments the  pastel colors of the glaze.

PC050560

I came across a very old W.S. George vase with green appliques.  Naturally, I wanted a green rose for this pot.  After an intensive search, I came up with a very large, bloom that had enough green and the right tone to enhance the vase.

PC050562

I like Japanese design and craftsmanship a lot.  So, I saved the funky green Nikko vase for last.  I came up with a playful setting for a contrasting red Gerbera Daisy. The fun arrangement is exactly what I need for this wintery day.

Ciao
another lotusThe blue jay of happiness notes that one of the Lord Buddha’s most famous sermons consisted of him simply holding a single flower in his hand in front of a group of monks.  He didn’t utter a single word.

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in art, Contemplation, Floral Arts, Hobbies, Vintage Collectables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

