Playful …Floral Friday

Much of the practice of being a hobbyist, is letting go and indulging in constructive entertainment. I’ve long considered hobby time to be the grown up version of grade school play time.  A hobby is an activity you do just because you like to do it.  That’s really all it is.

This is also the reason I enjoy sharing some of my own play time projects with you each Friday. In fact, today’s arrangements emphasize the playful aspect more than usual.

P1220642

The small amethyst, Murano inspired glass vase is elegantly constructed.  An airy, almost butterfly appearing poesy was exactly the effect I envisioned from the start. Everything works well together without becoming serious.

P1220645

Honestly, how could I not bring this container home from the thrift store?  I originally planned to use it as a coffee mug.  The trouble is, the thing is heart-shaped inside of it, so that makes it difficult to clean.  I like easily cleanable coffee mugs, so this container will have to be a portable flower holder. The blue-toned theme is a no-brainer.

P1220647

St. Patrick’s Day happens next week, so I wanted to get something ready, ahead of time.  This peculiar planter of Japanese manufacture fits the bill.  The leprechaun is obviously too big to squeeze through the door of the little house he is visiting. That’s OK, because the discrepency allows the mind to invent various scenarios.

I couldn’t find any shamrocks, so I substituted clover-like greenery and tiny fill flowers to create a whimsical appearance.

What hobby do you indulge whenever you feel playful?

Ciao
1978veryhappymeThe Blue Jay of Happiness quotes entertainer Adam Savage.  “It’s sort of a mental attitude about critical thinking and curiosity. It’s about the mindset of looking at the world in a playful and curious and creative way.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in cultural highlights, Floral Arts, Hobbies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Playful …Floral Friday

  1. GP Cox says:

    Great job as always on your displays. I wish I had your creative gene.

  2. mandala56 says:

    I make collages. I like what happens in my brain when I find combinations of pictures I like. It’s quite different from the detailed drawings that I do, I find I have a lot more freedom in my head.

Leave a Reply

