International Goof Off Day

Yesterday was quite hectic and busy for me.  There were several appointments, a couple of household emergencies, and a city council meeting to attend in the evening.  I feel justified in observing International Goof Off Day.goofoff-01

I don’t know why I need to justify goofing off, maybe some lingering guilt trip, or something. I wonder if the people who designated and organized International Goof Off Day also felt the need to lend credence to their desire to goof off, too.  I suppose there are always going to be people who need to organize everything. Why else should we have a specific calendar date, set aside to mess around?

Can you visualize their dayplanner entries for today?
7:00AM: breakfast
8:00AM: doodle on scratch paper
9:00AM: play several games of solitaire on the computer
10:00AM enjoy the coloring book
etc.

My own agenda has been cleared out.  I did that yesterday, so I wouldn’t have to be bothered with that task today.  When a person feels the need to justify goofing off, one simply plans ahead.goofoff-02

I just like to observe International Goof Off Day with a blank schedule.  I prefer free-style goofing off, it just seems more true to the spirit of the event.

What about mealtimes, today?  I’ve got that covered. I prepared them ahead of time. Just pop them into the microwave whenever hunger arises.

goofoff-03I just feel better when careful preparations are made before the event. After all, this is what guilt-free goofing off is all about.

I’ve taken care of nearly every thing ahead of time for today.  Even this blog post was written and posted before today. This is the day I leave nearly everything to chance.

Well, that’s enough for today.  I feel the urge to check Facebook.

Ciao
1978veryhappymeThe Blue Jay of Happiness has found out that goofing off sometimes leads to the discovery of new interests. This only works if one doesn’t goof off with the intention of discovering new interests. Just enjoy the day, today.

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in cultural highlights, Entertainment, Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

