Blah Blah Blah

Do you ever find yourself enduring a casual acquaintance who shares every mind numbing detail about the status of her health?  The person you never greet by asking, “How are you?”  While you struggle to remain polite and cheerful, your inner mind is saying “blah blah blah”.BlahBlauBlahDay-01

In our case, or at least in my case, those inner voices are saying, “blah blah blah” to things we tell ourselves about our own lives. This is especially true when we repeatedly remind ourselves to stop procrastinating about finishing a dreaded task.

Some mornings I look in the mirror and tell myself to go on that diet.  As I check out my profile, I remind myself that guys are not supposed to get pregnant. Then, I step away from the mirror and say, “blah blah blah” then forget it for a day.

In the United States, we have a day for taxpayers who don’t receive a tax over-payment refund from the Internal Revenue Service.  April 15th is that day of doom we stop saying, “blah blah blah” and scramble to finally file those income tax forms.

Most of the time I don’t procrastinate. I generally start big scary tasks as soon as I find out about them.  I love the feeling of taking care of business, right away, finishing ahead of time, then stepping back to admire the fruits of my productivity.

BlahBlauBlahDay-03Like most folks, I don’t like to have a deadline stalking me.  However, I often find myself facing self-imposed deadlines anyway.  If some dreaded chore needs to be done, I note the due date on my wall calendar, in ink. When I see the reminder again, I might mentally say, “blah blah blah”.

Now and then I hear myself saying, “blah blah blah” after some lengthy reflection and self-analysis. I mentally respond by telling myself not to scold myself so much.  The irony of this makes me smile.

If you have a live-in partner or spouse, your chances of saying, “blah blah blah” multiply by at least two. Not only do you nag yourself, your partner tells you the same “reminders” plus some extras he or she has dreamed up for you, too. “When will you BlahBlauBlahDay-02clean out the garage?” “When will you help me with the garden?” On and on it goes, “blah blah blah”.

Well, today’s the day to get going on these chores.  Hopefully, you finally filed your income taxes a couple of days ago.  We can use that momentum to tuck into the cleaning chores or paperwork that’s been waiting impatiently in a pile for us.  Today is the day I begin to adjust my mealtime style.  This is the day those boxes of stuff get donated to the thrift store.

This is the day to wish ourselves a happy “Blah Blah Blah Day”.

Ciao
mini-moiThe Blue Jay of Happiness quotes Leonardo da Vinci.  “It is easier to resist at the beginning than at the end.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, cultural highlights, Meanderings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

