Some Birds …Floral Friday

I’m barely trying to cut back on the number of vintage vases and planters I bring home, but  I don’t criticize myself when another one comes home with me.  My ready excuse is, at least my hobby is much cheaper than bar hopping or gambling.

A couple of weeks ago a friend asked me to check out a church sale and some garage sales with her. So, I tagged along, I hadn’t been to very many church sales, plus it has been a few years since I went garage saleing.  It was a modestly good haul. I picked up a vintage 8-track player component for my stereo that cost a dollar and a nice Viking glass swung vase that set me back two-dollars at the garage sales. The church sale yielded a handsome rooster planter at a cost of a dollar.  Who could resist?

FF062416bRoyalCopley

The Royal Copley rooster planter is a very detailed and richly colored piece of pottery, so I decided to keep the flowers very, very simple, almost as an afterthought. Yellow daisies were the obvious, rustic choice.

FF062416aNorby

Norby Studio of eastern Wyoming makes rugged, western themed kitchen wares and pottery.  I like the soaring eagles that decorate a tall, heavy vase. A posey of bright blooms works well in this container.

FF062416cLefton

Since I had decided on a bird theme for this week, why not freshen up my trusty old Lefton blue jay planter?  This handsome piece is accurately detailed and is approximately the same size as an actual blue jay.  The figurine, not the flowers, is the focus, so subtle, tones and very simple styling are all that are needed for such a piece.

All three arrangements were very fun to assemble and should work well in most settings.

Ciao
mini-moiThe Blue Jay of Happiness quotes ornithologist and painter John James Audubon. “…But Hopes are Shy Birds flying at a great distance, seldom reached by the best of Guns.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in art, Floral Arts, Hobbies, Hometown, Vintage Collectables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

