Some 1980s Kodachromes

A couple of weeks ago, I finally shared a few slides from my photographic period.  I figured that if they don’t get shared now, they will probably get lost to posterity or simply tossed into a dumpster.  Anyone who puts her or his heart into creative endeavors knows that pondering such a fate for their creations brings on a bout of melancholy.

At a friend’s insistence, a scattering of images taken during a vacation trip to California debuted a retrospective of my photography.  Today, is the second installment, a sampling of slides that were shot in Nebraska during the 1980s.
080316a1980
Grandma Johnson’s hanging ivy plant had been at her living room’s south window for as long as I could remember. One day, in the autumn of 1980, I took a few shots because I enjoyed the interplay of light and shadow.

080316e1981

My camera had several leftover frames of a roll of Kodachrome 40 in it when I brought it to the Nebraska State Fair in September of 1981.  One ride on the Midway had a Vikings theme. One of the empty modules caught my eye.

080316g1982

My Canon AE-1 was an almost constant companion during casual strolls.  Who knows what might make an artful subject?  One evening in 1982, a friend and I were walking around Madison, Nebraska.  I looked towards the west at the Catholic church and saw an amazing silhouette of the building.

080316c1983

One hot summer afternoon in 1984, I needed to get away from the air conditioning and onto the street for a walk. One of the houses west of my Norfolk apartment building displayed an intriguing shadowplay I couldn’t resist.

080316b1984

In early 1984, my close friend Felix and I were in our second shared apartment together. As a fun commemoration, he purchased a pair of coffee mugs.  The only suitable personalized mugs he could find were two that were printed with our middle names. His light-hearted gesture is one of my favorite memories.

080316f1984YellowBanksWildlifeArea

In the summer of 1984, a small group of area photographers took a Sunday afternoon field trip to “Yellow Banks” wildlife reserve between Norfolk and Battle Creek, Nebraska to shoot wildflowers. The afternoon turned out to be extremely humid. My macro lens kept fogging up with moisture, so I simply stopped wiping it off and decided instead to use the fogging as a visual tool. The slide of the tiny wild daisies is one of my favorites from that day.

080316d1988

Jumping ahead to 1988, I had brought the camera to the radio station one night to take some pictures for the boss.  After I gave him the roll of film, I reloaded with a roll of my own Kodachrome.  I wanted a few shots of the replacement FM transmitter final tube that was to be installed later that night. These components are extremely expensive and are swapped out every few years then are sent back to the factory for rebuilding.

Ciao
1978veryhappymeThe Blue Jay of Happiness quotes Albert Camus. “Every act of rebellion expresses a nostalgia for innocence and an appeal to the essence of being.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in art, Friendship, Hobbies, Hometown, projects, Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some 1980s Kodachromes

  1. I don’t know how you do it — every day an interesting story. I tip my hat.

Leave a Reply

