Liberal Redneck Manifesto (Review)

A few months ago the thumbnail photo for “The Liberal Redneck” appeared in my YouTube recommended list.  Naturally, I had to watch this ironic title.  Immediately, I was glad I clicked the link. I found a personable, down-home good ol’ boy from rural Tennessee.  As I listened, I discovered a smart, witty man who is an ally liberalredneck-02of my community and agrees with me on many current issues. I subscribed to his YouTube channel and found more of Crowder’s commentaries to warm my heart and make me think.

Recently, I stumbled across the book Liberal Redneck Manifesto: Dragging Dixie Outta the Dark by Trae Crowder and his comedy tour partners Drew Morgan and Corey Ryan Forrester. I didn’t need to think twice; the book was coming home with me.

It didn’t take long to discover the one weak part of the book, the sidebars.  The “Porch Chat” asides, themselves, were OK, it was their placement within the book’s overall physical layout.  Especially annoying was the first one.  As I read the main body of the book’s text, I turned the page and encountered copy that didn’t jibe with what I had just read. So, I ended up reading the “Porch Chat”. Then I had to search for the rest of the main body of the text, then had to reconfigure my thinking process to account for the interruption.

The sidebars are good and the main text of the book is good.  I just hate books that have a lot of sidebars dropped in seemingly at random.  There must be a better way for popular publishers to get around this fault. Sidebars greatly hamper the flow of a book. They seem to be the result of sloppy, lazy editing.liberalredneck-01

That fault aside, I did enjoy the content of Liberal Redneck Manifesto. There was much for me to relate to.  The three authors are anomalies from their conservative, Republican hometowns. The same applies to me. Despite the political and religious differences of their fellow rednecks, the three authors are devoted to and love their homeland. I can feel the same way.

The whole Republican, love it or leave it aspect of our home states stinks, but some of us want to adjust it, not leave it.  The authors don’t just rant about conservatives, they reserve some of their commentary for the edification of liberals, too.  The three want to destroy the stereotypes that many smug northern liberal types harbor about residents of the Old South. The rants about conservatives and liberals are well-meaning and told in as graceful of a manner not usually expected from stand-up comedians.

If you enjoyed reading I Am America (and So Can You) or Dear White People , you’ll enjoy this fast-reading book.  Crowder, Morgan, and Forrester make short work of religious and political hypocrisies. While doing so, the three celebrate the land of Dixie as one of America’s richest sources of culture.

If you’re a political junkie of any persuasion, you will find something to like in this book. To me, it was a guilty pleasure.

{ The Liberal Redneck Manifesto: Dragging Dixie Outta the Dark by Trae Crowder, Drew Morgan, and Corey Ryan Forrester; 344 pages; published in 2016 by Atria Books: ISBN: 978-15011-604-0 }

Ciao
mini-moiThe Blue Jay of Happiness quotes Patrick Swayze. “You can imagine me as a kid growing up in redneck Texas with ballet shoes, tucking the violin under my arm. I had to fight my way up.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in Books, Controversy, cultural highlights, Entertainment, Hometown, Politics, religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

