Sunday Photos

The slower pace of Sundays allows us to relax and reflect upon life and our surroundings.  I remember childhood Sunday visits with family and friends as a time to look at their latest snapshots.  As I grew older, my best friend and I browsed through our latest photographic efforts and shared friendly critiques of each others’ images.

That’s what I have in mind for today.  The photos were composed during the past few weeks as the last week of November merged into December.

sundayphoto121816a

The mild, late Autumn weather put me in the mood for a hike down a walking/bicycle path near one of the city parks. This graffiti caricature of a giraffe caught my attention. It was created on one of the large I-beams of the highway bridge that crosses over the hiking trail.

sundayphoto121816h

The trail runs parallel to the Elkhorn River for a couple of miles. Photogenic views of the river and surroundings are abundant.

sundayphoto121816j

My friend Dianne borrowed the white Saturn sedan in order to take another trip to Costco in Omaha.  I rode along to keep her company and to help bring her treasures into her house when we returned to Norfolk. She anticipates that these supplies will last at least a month.

sundayphoto121816b

The remainder of today’s pictures were shot in Wayne County, Nebraska. The two subjects of this photo have gone to seed.  Asparagus and the Quonset shed are beyond their prime.

sundayphoto121816d

The grindstone has been gathering moss behind dad’s old shed for at least a couple of decades.

sundayphoto121816e

I got caught in a Nebraska traffic jam last week. The state highway crews were busily wrapping up the last of the road construction season for the year.

sundayphoto121816f

On the days I drive to Wayne,  I like to arrive very early.  Sometimes I’m rewarded with dramatic dawns over the cropland and farms in the area.

sundayphotog-novocaineextra1116

The antique signage has been preserved and placed in modern frames on this old second floor space in downtown Wayne.  The small clinic is where I first went under the Novocaine and drill as a young boy.

Ciao
mini-moiThe Blue Jay of Happiness likes a quote from the legendary photographer, Ansel Adams. “To the complaint, ‘There are no people in these photographs,’ I respond, There are always two people: the photographer and the viewer.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in art, Hobbies, Hometown, photography, Youth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

