On Floral Design Day

A comment I sometimes hear at funeral visitations goes something like this, “I didn’t want to spend money on something so frivolous as flowers.”  I don’t know if the commenter is being miserly or if they’re financially strapped.  In either case, I feel sorry that they think a floral tribute of some sort is unappreciated.

During the visitation for my father a couple of years ago, my sister and I paused at each bouquet and plant that was sent in dad’s honor. I felt very touched that the senders thought enough of dad to send a lovely floral tribute to him. Each arrangement helped to soften the grief of dad’s passing. There was no way that those flowers were frivolous and unappreciated.floral-02

Funerals are not the only event when people care enough to provide flowers.  Weddings come to mind because they can showcase the finest, most creative arrangements of the florists’ art.  Floral design certainly sets the stage for a memorable wedding ceremony.

We don’t need to wait for a landmark event in order to appreciate some attractively arranged flowers.  An arrangement or a solitary flower is welcome anytime.  Who doesn’t enjoy a room or workspace adorned with some cheerful blooms?

Certainly flowers are not frivolous to the people who create arrangements for a living. Floral design is taken very seriously by people in the floral design industry. They have invested time and effort into floral education. Florists own their businesses and must deal with all the worries and joys of being a business owner. They also must cope with the fact that their inventory is perishable.

floral-03Then there are those of us who enjoy floral design as a hobby or creative outlet.  We began our pasttime for various reasons.   Some people like to use flowers from their garden to create arrangements to enjoy for themselves and to give away to friends and family. Each bouquet or arrangement becomes a very personal expression of love.

I’ve been interested in flower arranging since boyhood. I remember the first posey of dandelions proudly given to mom  when I was just a toddler. Although I enjoyed putting together modest arrangements of fresh or dried flowers, I never seriously considered becoming a florist. There were a couple of reasons for that. First, floral design is rarely encouraged as a career choice for boys to undergo. Second, one of my classmate’s family owned our town’s flower shop, so I couldn’t imagine competing with him.

Regardless of those reasons, floral design remained a very minor interest.  Occasionally, I’d put something together for a family member or a friend. Sometimes, I just wanted to spruce up my drab bachelor’s apartment with something avant garde.

Floral design as an interest became a full-blown hobby after I began collecting vintage pottery and vases. There were numerous vases in the house, why not use them for their designed purpose?  I invested in books and scoured the Web to learn about flowers and how to arrange them.  floral-01

Ever since then, my techniques have evolved as I’ve enjoyed my self-taught hobby the past few years.  In the interests of pottery preservation and for other various reasons, I don’t use fresh flowers. Dried and faux flowers are my media of choice. However, I sometimes purchase a  bag of assorted flowers at the supermarket in order to indulge in the joy of arranging fresh blooms.

Whether you, yourself are a professional florist, a hobbyist, or a consumer of floral arrangements, I hope you enjoy a happy Floral Design Day, today.

Ciao
floral-04The Blue Jay of Happiness quotes Henri Matisse. “There are always flowers for those who want to see them.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in art, cultural highlights, Floral Arts, Hobbies, Youth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

