Save The Spiders

I looked up from the book I had been reading to glance at the cone-shaped candle holder on the nearby table. A small, grey spider was running endlessly around the edge of the container in orbit around the flame. She had a compact body and long legs. spiderday-01She was a fast moving creature, too. I placed a bookmark in the book and set it aside. The little arachnid was far more fascinating.

After several minutes, I decided to release the spider outdoors onto shrubbery. So, I picked up the candleholder, brought it outdoors, allowed the breeze to extinguish the candle, then I held the edge of the candleholder up to a twig. The spider made her escape and scampered away.

I suppose the minor incident is memorable because I learned something that evening.  Apparently some spiders are light sensitive and react to light much like moths are attracted to  flames.spiderday-03

Whenever possible, I save spiders from human caused death.  I always have a paper cup and square of thin cardboard on a shelf specifically for that purpose. If I’m away from home, I improvise something else to help in the rescue. If I encounter a spider or two in the basement or garage, there is no need to disturb them. They’re probably hunting bugs I don’t want around.

Besides their helpful role in the balance of nature, spiders can be entertaining and interesting to watch. During the warm seasons, my favorites are jumping spiders. The cute little things are bundles of energy.  I cannot resist observing one if I see it on a door or window. What’s not to like about that?

spiderday-02I’m certainly not an arachnologist, but the casual study of eight-legged creatures is enjoyable. I cannot truthfully say that I like all varieties of spiders, but they’re all worthy of respect.

Spring is almost here, that means spiders have been hatching and will be hungry to feast on pesky insects. It is time to observe another aspect of nature.

Ciao
mini-moiThe Blue Jay of Happiness quotes the English actor Matt Smith.”If I see a spider in the flat, I try to get a cup and a piece of paper and throw it out of the window. I can’t kill them because they’re good for catching flies.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in cultural highlights, Environment, Science, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

