Expired Kodachrome

Three 36 exposure rolls of Kodachrome ISO 200 slide film had been squirreled away in my refrigerator since Kodak announced they were discontinuing the type back in 2007.  A cousin said not to worry about processing because he would be able to develop it for me in his darkroom.  So, basically, I neglected to use the film for several years.

In 2010, I began weeding out my old film cameras and lenses. An empty Canon Sure Shot still had a good battery. I decided to set the camera aside and load it with a roll of the old Kodachrome. I called my cousin to affirm that he could still develop the film.  He said he could, but I needed to use up my stock because his chemicals were getting old and he didn’t want to hunt for newer supplies.

After loading the Sure Shot I brought it along for photo shoots. As a backup, I also carried a digital camera because I didn’t trust the film that had expired so many years ago.


I mounted the camera to a tripod for a couple of shots of the Wayne County, Nebraska courthouse. This picture is the only one that turned out, I had to crop the edges and bottom of this frame.


The entire image of the Ta Ha Zouka park lagoon in Norfolk, Nebraska developed remarkably well. This is one of the best from the summer of 2010. This was another tripod mounted exposure.

I love day lilies as much as I love Kodachrome film. This image was slightly overexposed but the red orange flowers almost explode with brilliance.

During an early autumn morning walk, I encountered the Nebraska Central train at Norfolk’s First Street crossing. I’m guessing the locomotives had been freshly washed because the red paint job looks so beautiful. This image is a hand held shot.

The railroad cars were parked on a side track along Northeast Nebraska’s Cowboy Trail.  I couldn’t resist exploiting image perspective and contrast. Even though some final cropping was necessary, the essential portion of the image remained usable.

After the three rolls had been used, I sent them to my cousin in Colorado for processing.  About one third of the frames were no good; some of the frames were slightly flawed; and another third turned out very well. Of course it was thrilling to have any slides whatsoever turn out.

Ciao
The Blue Jay of Happiness quotes singer Paul Simon (of course). “Kodachrome… it gives us those nice, bright colors, gives us the greens of summers, makes ya think all the world’s a sunny day, Oh yeah! I’ve got a Nikon camera, I’d love to take a photograph, so mama don’t take…my Kodachrome away…”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in art, Hobbies, Hometown, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

