TGIM

Hurray! Thank Goodness It’s Monday!

How wonderful that you’re alive today! It’s Monday again, the real beginning of a fresh, brand-new week.

Why is it that society has conditioned us to hate one day of the week over the others?  If Monday was a traditional day off, would we be encouraged to hate Tuesdays?  Why dread any particular day at all?

As we get older and hopefully wiser, we realize more profoundly that each and every day is precious. Each day we awaken from slumber and feel gratitude for the gift of another day.  With this attitude, it doesn’t matter if the day is Friday, Saturday, or Monday; it’s a day to be alive.

Not long ago, I wrote a similar post for this blog and noticed that fewer than usual people visited this page. Is the idea of loving Mondays really controversial?  Why is Monday the liver and onions day of the week?  Here’s what the writer Akilnathan Logeswaran had to say about the subject:

“Honestly, I never really understood the glorification of Fridays & weekends.

I don’t want to build a life and career, where I spent five days a week waiting for the weekend. No!

I want to enjoy my life, and don’t wish any weekday away. I want each day to matter to me, in some way, even if it’s a small tiny way.

I love my life. Everyday. That’s the spirit we should convey all around us.”

Logeswaran has a good point.  Life goes by fast enough, why wish away a day?  With one less day, life would go by even faster. If you have a deadline to meet, the deadline will only arrive sooner. Besides that, if every day is a weekend day, wouldn’t life be less vibrant?

In a broader sense, weekends, themselves, are becoming less relevant.  With rotating work schedules, more workers are on the job on Saturdays and Sundays. If their jobs feel like drudgery, will the weekend feel like one long Monday to them?
In that it’s socially acceptable to dislike Mondays, these workers will have learned to hate two or three days each week.  What kind of a life is that?

I know there are some people who will say, “Don’t be such a killjoy, just let us hate our Mondays.” Certainly it’s true that lots of us live to complain.  To them I answer, “Be thankful for Monday, it gives you one more thing to despise.”

For the nihilists who think that Monday is just a pointless day, Monday might serve the purpose of helping the nihilists learn that the pointlessness lies in their complaints and not the day itself.

Personally, I love to get up each day in wonder. I ask myself, what will today bring? What experiences will I have? Will I meet a new friend today?

One Internet meme caught my eye recently. “Your Monday morning thoughts set the tone for your whole week. See yourself getting stronger, and living a fulfilling, happier and healthier life.” This is valuable advise in many ways. Even if you feel a twinge of Monday-hate, you can diminish it by just adjusting your attitude.

I won’t belabor the idea of loving Mondays, but I have one more thing to say.  We can challenge ourselves to overtake the Monday Blues by opening our minds and remembering the things we’re thankful for.

Ciao
The Blue Jay of Happiness quotes another Internet meme. “Wake up every Monday knowing that you can create something amazing this week.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in cultural highlights, Meanderings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

