Fun Finds …Floral Friday

Who doesn’t like to discover things?  Better yet, when we find a ready use for the discovery, don’t we feel even happier?  This happens frequently to me.  Accidental finds are my cheap thrills.

Images are clickable.

Images are clickable.

During a recent walk-through of the local Goodwill Store, I spied a unique wallpocket vase.  The funky teakettle hanging with the homely message brightens up the wall at the kitchen sink.  This arrangement features mums and peruvian lilies.FF092515c

A day later, in the same store, I stumbled across a vintage vase with asymmetrical handle placement. I held it for a few moments and instantly visualized how it should be filled. A bunch of grapes was part of the idea.

FF092515d

While mowing the yard and the adjacent city property this week, I spotted what at first looked like an old can hidden at the street gutter.  Then, I realized it’s a steel flower pot.  My first impulse was to throw it into the garbage. Instead, I set it on my driveway while I finished mowing.  As I mowed, I realized I could sanitize the old planter and straighten the foot.  Later, after I disinfected the planter, I knew it would be perfect for a “shabby chic” design.  It’s still rusty, and a bit bent, but that’s OK.

FF092515b

Yesterday, I was searching the basement for a misplaced gadget. While looking through a forgotten crate, I noticed an old glass porch light “globe” or cover. Right away, I thought, “This would make a great vase.” After it was cleaned, I filled it with echinacea blooms and a few other blooms. When I get tired of this, I’ll swap it out with the light globe presently near my front door.

Ciao
mini-meThe Blue Jay of Happiness likes to hang out at antiques shops and thrift stores.

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in Floral Arts, Hobbies, Vintage Collectables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fun Finds …Floral Friday

Leave a Reply

