Regarding Limitations

I Googled the sentence, “As time goes by, we get a little bit older and a little bit slower.” This blog showed up as the first item. I had quoted the Beatles snippet from “Revolution Number Nine”, on February 8th of this year. The reason I searched for the statement today was because I woke up this morning feeling quite old and sluggish.

I know there are people who proclaim that we’re only as old as we feel. There is some pop psychology truth to that; however, sometimes a person simply feels crotchety. I believe this should be honored because it’s an authentic sensation. To deny that there are limitations to the human experience is unhelpful to individuals and society.

One of the core Buddhist theories is Anicca or Anitya which means impermanance. In a nutshell this means that everything changes and nothing lasts forever. This condition of the way things are includes everything from the smallest microbe up to galaxies and the Universe itself. Everything around us is continually changing, including ourselves.

To accept impermanance adds profundity to one’s life. Understanding that each of us has a literal deadline, means that realistically, we have one go at living. If you’re searching for a reason to stop procrastination, the truth of impermanence is a pretty big one.

Take my experience of grogginess this morning for example. Most mornings I am refreshed and eager to get going with the day. Yet some mornings, this is far from the case. On mornings like today, an extra cup of coffee induces wakefulness and eagerness to begin the day.

I need only to thumb through a family photo album to remember that I’m not the person I used to be. There are photos of me as an infant. Snapshots of me as a schoolboy. Photos of me as a young man. Photos of me as an older man. I hope that someone will take a photo or two of me as an elderly dude, too.

When I was much younger, I was able to attack physical challenges like hard labor and outdoors chores with hardly a care or concern. Nowadays, I must think more strategically about pacing my efforts, taking more frequent rest breaks, and knowing when to quit. Not doing these steps could result in serious health consequences or even a sooner demise. This type of mindfulness about working and resting is common to most if not all people who grow older, so I’m not gatekeeping about this.

One of my complaints about contemporary pop psychology is the saying, “You’re never too old to __.” Well, yes, we eventually grow too old to do many things. For instance, I can no longer mow the yard on a hot-humid day with only one or two resting breaks. The reality now is that I must forgo mowing altogether on hot-humid days. In fact, I’m considering having to hire someone younger to perform this task.

Accepting the reality of impermanence and limitations does not mean giving up on living a fulfilling, joyful life. Just because entropy will slowly erode the progress we attain does not mean there will not be more to do to remain viable and happy. In fact, knowing there will always be limitations allows us to realize the preciousness of life and to be grateful for our existance. The wisdom of living fully one day at a time becomes more vividly apparent.

Understanding the universal nature of impermanence reinforces our inborn empathy and compassion for all living beings. Knowing that every person must come to terms with their own limitations and ultimate demise helps us feel closer to each other. Understanding limitation encourages us to become more generous and kind to our fellow beings regardless of chronological age.

The fact of the matter is that limitations are existential conditions of life. Whatever we are thinking and experiencing at this present moment will change tomorrow. The only permanent thing in the Universe is impermanence.

Namaste

The Blue Jay of Happiness quotes 20th century American director, actor, writer, producer, and magician, Orson Welles. “The enemy of art is the absence of limitations.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, philosophy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Regarding Limitations

  1. We live in an incredibly challenging time. And that costs us a lot of energy. From pointless software updates (Hello WP!) that disrupt our work habits to people who babble about alternative facts and thus question our minds. And then we start wondering whether we’re too old for all of this.

  2. Jane Fritz says:

    Hear, hear!! 😊

  3. rawgod says:

    I look at impermanence slightly differently — I call it chaos, and I love it. We cannot completely regulate our lives, because anything can and usually will happen at some point — always when we least expect it. This keeps me on my toes.
    As for life — life is the greatest thing we have, nothing can compare with life — because without life we have nothing at all. Everyone tells me love makes the world go round, but life gives us the world that goes around.
    You speak of death, and the impermanence of life. In this dimension, this is absolutely true. But the more I study life (giving no thought towards religion or religious belief) I do not see how life itself can end. Our egos will assuredly die, our sense of self will disappear, but I think life is forever is some way, that there are dimesions that are unknowable from other dimensions, where life changes and becomes something we cannot imagine.
    When we look to DNA, we see that all life is related, a progression from form to form, yet all based on the the individual cell. For me, life truly only exists at the cellular level, and the more cells involved in living an “individual” life, all the more reason to believe life keeps on going on somehow. There is something inside each individual cell that makes it more than nothing. And it is that “more than” that survives what we see as life and death in our dimension.
    Sorry if I am taking this conversation to an unexpected level, but that is chaos in action. I started to say one thing, and ended up saying something altogether different. Gotta love that!

    • swabby429 says:

      Well, there is this spirituality concept that appears to be integral with existence. This makes for stimulating late night conversations around campfires and lecture halls.

      • rawgod says:

        I like the word “spirituality,” — spiritual is in the title of my first blog — but it has so many meanings and connotations. I would really love a word that could exclusively mean exactly what I want to say. And to try to nake one up just seems wrong.

      • swabby429 says:

        Even atheist Sam Harris uses the word to describe his inner experiences.

      • rawgod says:

        Although I am atheist, I don’t really like the current crop of loud atheists. A lot of them seem more Anti-Theists to me. There are a lot of things about theism I do not like, but “Live and let live!” They just aren’t ready to be Atheists yet.

      • swabby429 says:

        Sam Harris is so laid back that he has a meditation app.

      • rawgod says:

        I don’t keep up with him, or any of them. Sorry if I insulted him. I just go my own way, at my own pace.

  4. Bruce@WOTC says:

    As I have gotten older, I’ve just tried to adjust to the necessary adjustments each day might bring…and not dwell about or lamenting the whys. I know I can’t do exactly what I used to do, at least with the same velocity, so I just work on doing the very best I can with what the day has provided. Each day I get older is just another puzzle I’m looking to master, and I enjoy the challenge.🙂

  5. rkrontheroad says:

    In Japan, I learned of the concept of wabi-sabi, mostly in connection with pottery. Wabi represents the appreciation and contemplation of beauty in the imperfect and humble; the sabi part refers to that which becomes more beautiful and flawed with age.

    • swabby429 says:

      After your favorite cup is broken and repaired, you are free from worry about ruining the cup’s perfection. The perfection lies in its imperfection. It’s a profoundly simple philosophy.

      • rkrontheroad says:

        It also applies to a slip of the potter’s hand during the creation process, or a unplanned result in the kiln. Perhaps it also can apply to us as we age.

  6. Bronlima says:

    “You are as old as you feel”. A lively elder aquantence of mine has deftly changed this saying to…….. “You are as old as who You feel!”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.