Pondering Noise

Middleton’s statement raises some questions: What circumstances led to the hearing of a marshmallow falling through a letterbox? Was he the object of a silly prank? When did he hear the marshmallow drop through the letterbox? Did he perform this act himself? Does Middleton perform experiments out of curiosity about certain noises?

I wonder if Middleton has an especially keen sense of hearing. If so, I fully understand that he is able to hear marshmallows falling through letterboxes. In fact, I wish I had a letterbox. Then I’d buy a bag of marshmallows and try the experiment myself.

I like sounds and certain noises up to a certain decibel level. When the background ambient sound level is low at bedtime, the buzzing of a flying insect is cause for alarm. Yet the same set of ears listening to music in a concert hall is unconcerned about the volume of the orchestra. In fact, the listener may desire loudness. Our preferences are subjective and situational. I enjoy listening to various genres of music at home; however, I do not like nightclub atmosphere when the band plays so loud I cannot easily converse. I do not want hearing damage as a result of a night on the town.

As I tap these words into my laptop, the time is 3:38 AM. I hear the tick tock of the antique kitchen clock. The refrigerator emits a low hum. Moments ago, a semi-truck engine-braked upon its approach into town. There is also the whine of tinnitus which today is quieter than usual. Except for the tinnitus, I enjoy this level of noise.

Noise is not only the physical soundwaves that our eardrums detect. There is the noise of the voice of one’s mind. We pick up mental noise as a result of reading or watching. The noise might be the product of overthinking while one quarrels with oneself without verbally speaking. The noise might cause a person to dither when decisive action is most appropriate.

We get more than sufficient information via the Web. Although technology is useful and I support utilizing it, the Web can also be harmful. The Web is an information gusher. We receive so much information that it takes more time out of each day simply to digest and analyze it. There is also the dangerous problem of fallacies being constantly promulgated by questionable sources and people with ulterior motives. With the advent of artificial intelligence, the noise level is already increasing. It is becoming increasingly difficult to sort synthetic from authentic.

I’m not against the use of AI; however, I am deeply concerned about misuse of the technology. As of today, I am unaware of any effective guardrails regarding its deployment. At what point does AI generated material morph from being helpful to becoming harmful? When does AI cease being musical to becoming a roaring noise?

For many of us, it is important to tone done the various noises so that we may be given the option of living in peace and quiet. There must always be recourse against the seemingly endless noise that exists around and within us. There are certain times when it is completely appropriate and desireable to be able to hear marshmallows drop into letterboxes.

I’ll be quiet with my words now. I hope you enjoy a peacefully quiet day if that is your way.

Ciao

The Blue Jay of Happiness quotes 20th century French fashion designer, Yves Saint Laurent. “I live in solitude. I have need of solitude to do the next day’s work. I can’t be to parties where the noise tires me. I can’t speak on the telephone. I must have complete calm.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in Meanderings, Contemplation, Health, Environment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pondering Noise

  1. rawgod says:

    One thing I learned, to listen not only with my ears, but with my whole body. Some sounds soothe the body, other sounds initiate a “fight or flight” response, and some do nothing either way.
    I blew my hearing out a long time ago listening to rock music at extremely loud volumes — it reverberatec through my body and excited every cell. I craved the body experience.
    Now I have hearing aids, but they don’t work as well as they should. Yet my body still wants to “feel the music!” Hendrix still makes me perk up and listen.
    But the sound of a marshmallow falling into a letterbox? What kind of letterbox? What is it made of? What are its dimensions? I think in a large metal out-going letterbox the sound would be very interxting…

    • swabby429 says:

      I wondered what a prince’s letterbox might be like. Inquiring minds want to know more.

      • rawgod says:

        I doubt prince’s have letterboxes any more than we do. They would have someone to collect their mail, open it up, read it for safety value, and then probably to read it to them.
        Of course, they would probably have people to do the reverse if the want to send a letter. Throwing a marshmallow into a letterbox would only be done as a prank to entertain themsekves. If I had a marshmallow, I would eat it, not drop it into a letterbox.

      • swabby429 says:

        It seems that you’re overthinking this. 🙂

      • rawgod says:

        Just having fun on a grey, boring morning. Gotta start taxes this afternoon. Not looking forward to it.

  2. Most British people have what is called a door letterbox, hardly anyone has a single box outside their homes. So it would have been a marshmallow falling onto the floor next to the front door. Perhaps you already thought of this. I enjoy thinking about this topic a lot. It is usually fairly quiet where I live except for the two lane highway next to our A-frame cabin. The trucks that use the engine brakes come from the mountain pass 5 miles up and you hear it all the way down and it is very annoying, especially when on a video conference call (while working). I also love listening to music at a reasonable level. I love hearing the sound of birds in the morning and evening. Cheers

    • swabby429 says:

      Thanks for the letterbox concept. Yes, engine braking is unlawful within my small city. However, I live near the edge of town so truckers often brake that way just before crossing city limits.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.