On Healing

As an an aside, I should mention that I am not a licensed healthcare provider, nor life-coach. Also, I am not some type of psychic, nor spiritual councelor of any type. That said, the process of healing is of personal interest because I have a chronic condition.

I am diabetic, so healing is a daily concern. However, diabetes is not the main subject of today’s short blog post. Because I am not a nurse nor a doctor, I do not offer advice beyond recommending we should regularly consult legitimate healthcare providers. Your physician is a better source of advice regarding physical healing.

As I’ve grown older, the subject of healing has been more frequently on my mind. There are old physical and emotional injuries not unlike most people have had in life. I’ve lived a somewhat charmed existance in that I’ve never had to spend time in a hospital aside from a sleep study many years ago. I’ve never suffered serious injury nor been a victim of a life-threatening accident. Except for the diabetes and typical bouts with influenza, I’m rather healthy. For this, I am grateful.

Part of my healing journey has been composing short daily entries for this blog. I do not write for “likes” nor to acquire high subscription numbers. I do not write for search engine optimization nor to market myself. I am on this platform because it is a convenient way to share my thoughts and reflections with like-minded people regardless of where they live. I have no desire to monetize this blog because I wish to keep it as a hobby. Having hobbies is part of my “healing” journey.

This healing journey is a manifestation of exploring mind and body through observing the world and my reflections upon it. Like millions of other folks, I am curious about many things and wish to understand them. Exploration of curious topics is deeply satisfying and worthwhile for its own sake. I like to get to the bottom of things. I’m not satisfied with superficial explanations, superstition, and feel-good pretentiousness.

I don’t label myself as a “spiritual person”, however, I do like to surround myself in the natural world as a way of remembering my place on Earth. Living in a part of the world where there are numerous farms, groves of trees, and the majesty of the plains has been subjectively beneficial to me. Where I now live, the pace of life is slower and more conducive to mindfulness than in bustling cityscapes.

On the other hand, I do enjoy visiting large cities from time to time out of a deep curiosity and fascination about them. There is something emotionally expansive about visiting a huge city and mingling with the locals. Massive metropolitan areas briefly satisfy my need for integration with society. Then upon returning to small town Nebraska, the slower pace of living here feels refreshing again.

My own healing journey has been dynamic. I’ve learned that many issues are cured from the inside out and that it can take more time than expected to achieve wellness. There are some instances when physical healing occurs more quickly than anticipated. Some psychological trauma is addressed and mitigated to a great degree, but can remain in the background for a lifetime.

It’s comforting to understand that our minds and bodies are complex. The way to maintain wellness is individual; there is no one-size-fits-all method of healing. The process of healing is fascinating. I have great admiration for people who have put in the long, arduous years of preparation for careers in medicine and psychological counseling. They make life on Earth better through their continued work.

Namaste

The Blue Jay of Happiness quotes American singer-songwriter, Linda Ronstadt. “Art is for healing ourselves, and everybody needs their own personal art to heal up their problems.”

About swabby429

An eclectic guy who likes to observe the world around him and comment about those observations.
This entry was posted in cultural highlights, Health, Meanderings, philosophy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to On Healing

  1. Americaoncoffee says:

    You have a perfect mindset and discipline. Continue taking good care of yourself. ❤️

  2. I think that keeping busy is a pretty effective healing mode for many people. That way, they can keep their minds off their problems. Not a perfect solution, of course.

    • swabby429 says:

      Regular constructive activity does promote good health.

    • rawgod says:

      You know the old adage, everything in moderation? If you keep yourself too busy you leave no time for conversations with yourself. Problems need to be dealt with or they will not go away. Certainly busyness is a coping mechanism for many, to keep themselves too busy for self-contemplation, but that just stops you from healing. I ended up in the hospital for three months for a self-induced stress-caused bodily issue, and that forced me to slow down and listen to me. I became my best friend. I still suffer from that issue as it cannot be cured now, it went too long undiagnosed. Now I listen when my body says slow down. It knows what it is talking about.

      • swabby429 says:

        We acquire inner wisdom at our own paces.

      • rawgod says:

        We do. But sometimes one has to be told inner wisdom is possible. There were many things in my life that I was not told were possible, so I never even contemplated them. Once I learned some things are possible, then I came to the conclusion all things are posssible.

  3. rawgod says:

    You hit the nail on the head when you said “issues are cured from the inside out.” I discovered this in my late 20s to middle 30s. I learned to ignore 90% of what came from outside me, and to listen to what I feel inside me — basically put, to listen to my gut. I was able to get rid of the extraneous noise, and find the calmness that is me. Life itself did not become easier, I still have to deal with the world around me — but living became much easier with lots of room for happiness and peaceful thoughts.
    I like myself a whole lot better now than then. Before that I had no idea I could like myself…

    • swabby429 says:

      Yes, liking and loving oneself is key. Previously, I had been programmed to believe that this attitude was akin to narcissism. I now know there is a profound difference.

      • rawgod says:

        There certainly is. One needs to be able to live with oneself, and it is easier to live a good person than a vicious fool.
        Narcissists like Trump cannot love thenselves in a good way, so thet try to make everyone else’s lives around them as miserable as their own. I watch Trump’s facial expressions and body language very closely. Thry are not signs of self-love, but rather self-hatred and self-pity. His body is failing him, and he cannot cope with that.

      • swabby429 says:

        He is apparently a textbook case of sociopathic narcissism. Despite what he claims, he lives in a self-imposed hell.

      • rawgod says:

        Yup. He does. But he thinks he is hiding it from the world, and he is too stupid to realize he is an open book.

  4. Bronlima says:

    Yes, I find myself blogging in the same way you do. Just the “doing” is satisfying. If someone is gracious enough to read or reply, that is an addition gratification.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.